The Victorian Goldfields partners acknowledge the Traditional Owners whose Country includes the Victorian Goldfields: the Barengi Gadjin (the Wotjobaluk, Jaadwa, Jadawadjali, Wergaia and Jupagulk peoples), Dja Dja Wurrung, Eastern Maar, Gunaikurnai, Taungurung, Wadawurrung, Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung and Yorta Yorta peoples.

We pay our respects to Elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the region today.

Aboriginal peoples are strongly connected to these landscapes today and eight Registered Aboriginal Parties are the primary guardians, keepers and knowledge holders of their Aboriginal Cultural Heritage. Their ancestors shaped the landscape through their activities, knowing it deeply and imbuing it with important cultural and spiritual meanings. The whole Country embodies song lines and storylines that connect Aboriginal peoples to places. Through their cultural practices, stories and traditions, knowledge was built and shared, generation by generation and continues to be today.

The eight Registered Aboriginal Parties whose Country includes the Victorian Goldfields are:

(Permission granted 2020)

(Permission granted 2020)

sign up to our e-newsletter